The New York State Thruway Authority and the New York State Police today began the 14-day “Buckle Up New York” initiative, a campaign the agencies plan to continue through Nov. 28.
During the two-week period, drivers across the 570 miles of the New York State Thruway ought to expect a visible police presence as troopers target drivers failing to adhere to the state’s seat belt law.
Those drivers and front-seat passengers over the age of 16 caught without a seat belt will likely receive a $50 fine. Those who fail to properly secure their children can expect a fine up to $100 along with three points on their drivers license.
Police officials said that fastening a seat belt takes only a second and often prevents deaths during road accidents and crashes. In 2009, state police issued 18,000 seat belt tickets.
New York State Law requires all front-seat passengers to wear a seat belt regardless of age. All passengers under the age of 16 must wear a seat belt even when traveling in the back seat. Children ages 6 and under must be properly secured in either a federally-approved child safety seat or a booster seat with a lap/shoulder safety belt, depending upon the child’s particular age and size. Children in this age group who are taller than 4 feet 9 inches are exempt from the safety seat requirement.